Over the past few years, Dunkin’ Donuts vegan options have really expanded! Finding delicious dairy free Dunkin’ Donuts drinks is possible if you just know how to order! Keep reading to find out more about Dunkin’ Donuts vegan drinks and foods and how to order them appropriately if you have a dairy allergy.
Plus keep reading until the very end when I share some tried-and-true suggestions on what to order from real people!
Have you ever wondered what Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan options are? Whether you’re living a vegan lifestyle or dairy free due to an allergy or sensitivity this article will hopefully provide some insight about what to order at Dunkin’ Donuts.
What’s vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts? Are there Dairy Free Dunkin’ Donuts options? Which Dunkin Donuts Vegan Drinks should I try? Let’s take a look at the answer to these questions as I dive deep into the Dunkin’ Donuts menu options.
Find out some favorite Dunkin’ Donuts vegan options from real people!
Over the past few years, Dunkin’ Donuts has really expanded its coffee and drink menu options. While Starbucks has paved the way in the coffee industry, Dunkin’ Donuts is coming close behind in that race. They continue to compete by pushing out similar drink options to Starbucks – like their new iced brown sugar oatmilk latte (YUM!). No longer is Dunkin’ Donuts just a place to grab a doughnut and a black coffee. You’ll find unique vegan drink options like oat milk lattes, coconut refreshers, chai lattes, and more!
Back in 2018 Dunkin’ Donuts removed Donuts from their name. In my opinion, this rebranding move had to do with their fast-growing drinks menu. Rather than being known as a donut place, they want to be top of your mind, right next to Starbucks, when you want to get your vegan matcha lattes. And while Starbucks is known for being the coffee place on every corner, depending on where you live (yea I’m talking about you, Maine) you might be more likely to find Dunkin’ on every corner.
So when it’s time for that vegan grande iced oatmilk latte, maybe you don’t have to hand over an arm and a leg at Starbucks. Stop by a Dunkin’ for a tasty vegan drink that (in my opinion) is just as good, and MUCH more affordable.
Disclaimer for Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan and Dairy Free Foods:
ANY RESTAURANT THAT IS NOT EXCLUSIVELY VEGAN OR DAIRY-FREE POSES THE RISK FOR CROSS-CONTAMINATION (ALSO REFERRED TO AS CROSS-CONTACT).
This guide is not meant to be considered as medical advice. Eat or Drink does not guarantee or take on any liable responsibility for the accuracy of the information below. Articles like this should always be your starting point. This article provides information but in no way is meant to tell you what to do. I always urge you, especially if you have allergies, to verify any information before consuming new food.
While I try to do my due diligence – menu items change, human error occurs, and different locations may simply do things differently. That is why even with my best efforts, I can not guarantee all information is accurate.
If you are unsure if eating out is safe for you, please consult your doctor to get the best advice for your specific needs.
Please do not hesitate to let us know if you see information that is not up to date – this blog post was last updated in January 2022.
This list only covers US-based restaurants. Please note that even if you have one of these restaurants in your country, the ingredients may differ.
Lastly, we have not verified sugar sources (for bone char-free sugar) and do include items that have palm sugar. If this is a concern for you, we recommend reaching out to the company directly.
Best Practices for Eating Out While Dairy Free or Vegan
The best advice I can give for eating out while Dairy Free or Vegan is to call ahead, speak to management, and ask questions throughout the process. For example, if they say they can clean surfaces on the phone when you get there ensure that they follow through.
If you have an allergy, being your own advocate is key if you want to eat out. Don’t assume just because a menu item is dairy free that the servers automatically know how to handle that.
And I’ll say it again if you’re not sure eating out while dairy free is safe for you, ask your doctor.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan and Dairy Free Foods
Unfortunately, in 2021 Dunkin’ stopped carrying the Beyond Sausage option. If you’re vegan or vegetarian this hit hard. Luckily there are still some safe vegan and dairy free food options available at Dunkin’ now.
According to their Website, the Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan food options are as follows:
- Bagels – Cinnamon Raisin, Plain, Everything, Sesame
- English Muffin
- Hash Browns
- Oatmeal (available at participating locations)
- Avocado Toast
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan and Dairy Free Drinks
There are so many vegan and dairy free drink options at Dunkin’ Donuts. If you are dairy free due to an allergy, it may be safer to stick to iced drinks to avoid shared milk frothing equipment. But again, as stated in the disclaimer above, cross-contamination is always a risk when eating out.
Dunkin’ has three delicious dairy free milk options. You can get your drinks with almondmilk, oatmilk (my personal favorite), or coconutmilk.
According to their website, the Dunkin’ Donuts vegan drink options are as follows:
- Hot/Iced Black Coffee
- Hot/Iced Coffee with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk
- Hot/Iced Lattes with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk
- Hot/Iced Brown Sugar oatmilk latte
- Hot/Iced Matcha Latte with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk
- Hot/Iced Chai Latte with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk
- Hot/Iced Macchiato with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk
- Hot/Iced Americano
- Cold Brew (served black, or with almondmilk, oatmilk, or coconutmilk and a safe flavor shot)
- Hot/Iced Tea (all varieties)
- Coolatta® Frozen Beverages in Strawberry and Blue Raspberry
- Dunkin’ Energy Punch (regional availability)
- Dunkin’ Refreshers
- Dunkin’ Coconut Refreshers
The Following Flavor Shots and Swirls are Vegan at Dunkin’:
- Vanilla Flavor Shot
- Hazelnut Flavor Shot
- Toasted Almond Flavor Shot
- Blueberry Flavor Shot
- Raspberry Flavor Shot
- Coconut Flavor Shot
- Mocha Swirl (note: this is the only dairy free swirl option)
After talking about what you can get vegan or dairy free at Dunkin’, let me quickly point out a couple of things you can’t get dairy free (that you can at Starbucks). Unfortunately, their hot chocolate can not be made dairy free as it comes pre-mixed with milk. The Dunkin’ Cold Brew Cold Foam is also not available dairy free. And one last worthwhile mention, all of their other flavor swirls apart from the mocha swirl listed above are not dairy free.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan and Dairy Free FAVORITES from Real People!
Want to know what vegan drinks to order when you’re at Dunkin’? Here are some ideas based on REAL people’s suggestions.
I’m a part of a lot of different groups on Facebook that share allergy-friendly recipes or tips. In the group, Vegan & Gluten Free, I asked “What are your favorite dairy free options at Dunkin’?” and here is what people said! I’ll also include some of my own favorites on this list.
- Coffee with almond milk and sugar (preferably Sugar in the Raw since it’s vegan and gluten free)
- Iced coffee with 3 coconutmilk and 3 vanilla
- Oatmilk iced latte with a shot of vanilla and mocha swirl
- Iced chai with oatmilk and mocha swirl
- Iced matcha oatmilk latte with a shot of coconut flavor
- Cold brew coffee with coconutmilk and a shot of hazelnut flavor
Here are my current favorites:
- Strawberry coconutmilk refresher – If you haven’t tried this, run to your nearest Dunkin’. It’s so creamy and tastes like a strawberry milkshake.
- Cold Brew coffee with extra oat milk and 2 shots of vanilla
- Iced Brown Sugar Oat Milk Latte with an extra flavor shot
Let’s Keep the Conversation Going in the Comments
Do you have a favorite vegan food or drink order that’s not listed below? Share your suggestion in the comments to help people find some new tried-and-true menu items to try!
Don’t Miss My Most Recent Blog Posts
Thanks for reading!
If you’re new to Eat or Drink, WELCOME! Below you’ll find my 5 most recent blog posts. Make sure you’re signed up for my newsletters so you receive an email every time a new blog post comes out.
- Dairy Free Buffalo Chicken Soup (gluten free option)
- 15 Restaurants with Gluten Free Options
- 3 Easy Prep Dairy Free FREEZER MEALS (Gluten Free Options)
- 3 FREE Printable Activities for Toddlers – Preschool Learning Tools
- 5 Nights of Dairy Free Dinners (Dairy Free Comfort Food)
Sources: The information in this blog post was obtained from the Dunkin’ website and was last verified in January 2022.
You mentioned that the Brown sugar flavor is vegan but that mocha was the only safe flavor swirl? Can you clarify that? I love this list! Definitely going to save it for later. I’m a regular customer at dunkin.
Yes! The Brown Sugar is a flavor shot (picture those liquid sugar syrups) whereas the mocha is a thicker syrup that falls under their “flavor swirl” category.
So glad you enjoyed this list!!